Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships 2022

Now in its 30th year, the Dubai Duty-Free Tennis Championships is one of the most anticipated events on the Dubai sporting calendar.

Held at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium in Garhoud, the tournament attracts some of the biggest names in tennis.

If you’re planning to be in Dubai between 12th February and 26th February 2022, make sure you put the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships on your itinerary. It’s a not-to-be-missed event.

The tournament is the most popular and prestigious tennis event in the Middle East. It is part of the ATP World Tour 500 series and one of the WTA 1000 events.

Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships
Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships

The women’s event (WTA) starts on Saturday 12 February with the final on Saturday 19 February. The men’s tournament (ATP) begins on 19 February. The men’s final will be on Saturday 26 February.

Dubai Duty Free, the world’s largest airport retailer, runs and manages the event.

Tickets can be purchased online from the official website (see below). Tickets for the finals and semi-finals sell out fast.

The venue is the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium, located in the Garhoud neighbourhood of the city. It has a capacity for 5,000 spectators.

The stadium is home to the Irish Village, one of the most popular pubs and entertainment venues in Dubai. The Century Village is also here and offers several restaurants. Both venues are popular with spectators.

The closest Dubai Metro station is GGICO, approximately half-a-mile from the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium.

Past Winners

The first Dubai Tennis Championships were held in 1993 in a temporary stadium on the same site as the current venue. The Dubai Tennis Stadium opened three years later. The inaugural WTA women’s tournament was held in 2001.

The event has been won by some of the biggest names in tennis, including Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, and Venus Williams.

Roger Federer holds the record for most victories in the men’s singles. Justine Henin-Hardenne has won the women’s singles four times.

YearMen's SinglesMen's DoublesWomen's SinglesWomen's Doubles
2021Aslan KaratsevJuan Sebastian Cabal
and Robert Farah
Garbine MuguruzaAlexa Guarachi
and Darija Jurak
2020Novak DjokovicJohn Peers
and Michael Venus
Simona Halep Hsieh Su-wei and Barbora Strycova
2019Roger FedererRajeev Ram and Joe SalisburyBelinda BencicHsieh Su-wei and Barbora Strycova
2018Roberto Bautista AgutJean-Julien Rojer and Horia TecauElina SvitolinaChan Hao-ching and Yang Zhaoxuan
2017Andy MurrayJean-Julien Rojer and Horia TecauElina SvitolinaEkaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina
2016Stan WawrinkaSimone Bolelli and Andreas SeppiSara ErraniChuang Chia-jung and Darija Jurak
2015Roger FedererRohan Bopanna and Daniel NestorSimona HalepTimea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic
2014Roger FedererRohan Bopanna and Aisam-Ul-Haq QureshiVenus WilliamsAlla Kudryavtseva and Anastasia Rodionova
2013Novak DjokovicMahesh Bhupathi and Michael LlodraPetra KvitovaBethanie Mattek-Sands and Sania Mirza
2012Roger FedererMahesh Bhupathi and Rohan BopannaAgnieszka RadwanskaLiezel Huber and Lisa Raymond
2011Novak DjokovicSergiy Stakhovsky and Mikhail YouzhnyCaroline WozniackiLiezel Huber and Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez
2010Novak DjokovicSimon Aspelin and Paul HanleyVenus WilliamsMaria Jose Martinez Sanchez and Nuria Llagostera Vives
2009Novak DjokovicRick de Voest and Dmitry TursunovVenus WilliamsCara Black and Liezel Huber
2008Andy RoddickMahesh Bhupathi and Mark KnowlesElena DementievaCara Black and Liezel Huber
2007Roger FedererFabrice Santoro and Nenad ZimonjicJustine HeninCara Black and Liezel Huber
2006Rafael NadalPaul Hanley and Kevin UllyettJustine Henin-HardenneKveta Peschke and Francesca Schiavone
2005Roger FedererMartin Damm and Radek StepanekLindsay DavenportVirginia Ruano Pascual and Paola Suarez
2004Roger FedererMahesh Bhupathi and Fabrice SantoroJustine Henin-HardenneJanet Husarova and Conchita Martinez
2003Roger FedererLeander Paes and David RiklJustine Henin-HardenneSvetlana Kuznetsova and Martina Navratilova
2002Fabrice SantoroMark Knowles and Daniel NestorAmelie MauresmoBarbara Rittner and Maria Vento Kabchi
2001Juan Carlos FerreroJoshua Eagle and Standon StolleMartina HingisYayuk Basuki and Caroline Vis
2000Nicolas KieferJiri Novak and David Rikl--
1999Jerome GolmardWayne Black and Sandon Stolle--
1998Alex CorretjaMahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes--
1997Thomas MusterGoran Ivanisevic and Sander Groen--
1996Goran IvanisevicByron Black and Grant Connell--
1995Wayne FerreiraGrant Connell and Patrick Galbraith--
1994Magnus GustafssonMark Woodforde and Todd Woodbridge--
1993Karel NovacekAnders Jarryd and John Fitzgerald--


Map showing location of Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships 2022

Event Details

Dates: to

Venue: Dubai Tennis Stadium

United Arab Emirates

Nearest Metro Station(s): Airport Terminal 1, GGICO

Visit Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships 2022 Website

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!