Dubai Marathon 2022

The Standard Chartered Dubai Marathon is the most prestigious running event in the Middle East. It was first held in 2000 and attracts top-class runners from around the world.

It is categorized as a Gold Label race by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), putting it in the same category as races such as the New York City Marathon, Boston Marathon, and London Marathon.

Dubai Marathon - Ayele Abshero setting the course record in 2012
Ayele Abshero setting a course record in 2012


The Dubai Marathon has always been held in the first week of January every year.

The 2021 edition was cancelled due to COVID-19, and the 2022 edition will not take place in January due to local health and safety rules. These included a ban on flights from Kenya and Ethiopia, the two countries with the best marathon runners.

The lead organizers of the Dubai Marathon, Pace Events, have set a tentative date of December 10 for the postponed 2022 race.

Runners can register online on the official Dubai Marathon website (see information box below). Marathon entrants must be at least 18.


The race begins and ends on the Umm Suqeim Road in Al Sufouh, opposite the Madinat Jumeirah and near the Burj Al Arab and Dubai Police Academy.

The route follows the Dubai coastline. Runners first turn right onto Jumeirah Beach Road and head up to Union House in Jumeirah, passing the Jumeirah Beach Hotel and Jumeirah Mosque.

On reaching Union House, runners then turn back and continue past the starting point onto Al Sufouh Road. The route continues to Dubai Media City, passing the Palm Jumeirah. Runners then return to the finish line on Umm Suqeim Road.

The event also features a 10 km road race and a 4 km fun run.

Previous Winners

The Dubai Marathon includes many great performances. The table below displays the results of prior editions of the race.

The course record (2 hours 3 minutes and 34 seconds) was set in 2019 by Ethiopian runner Getaneh Molla.

YearMen's WinnerTimeWomen's WinnerTime
2000Wilson Kibet (Kenya)02:12:21Ramilya Burangulova (Russia)02:40:22
2001Wilson Kibet (Kenya)02:13:36Ramilya Burangulova (Russia)02:37:07
2002Wilson Kibet (Kenya)02:13:04Albina Ivanova (Russia)02:33:31
2003Joseph Kahugu (Kenya)02:09:33Irina Permitina (Russia)02:36:26
2004Gashaw Asfaw (Ethiopia)02:12:49Leila Aman (Ethiopia)02:42:36
2005Dejene Guta (Ethiopia)02:10:49Diribe Hunde (Ethiopia)02:39:08
2006Joseph Kiprotich (Kenya)02:13:02Delilah Asiago (Kenya)02:43:09
2007William Rotich (Kenya)02:09:53Askale Tafa (Ethiopia)02:27:19
2008Haile Gebrselassie (Ethiopia)02:04:53Berhane Adere (Ethiopia)02:22:42
2009Haile Gebrselassie (Ethiopia)02:05:29Bezunesh Bekele (Ethiopia)02:24:02
2010Haile Gebrselassie (Ethiopia)02:06:09Mamitu Daska (Ethiopia)02:24:18
2011David Barmasai (Kenya)02:07:18Aselefech Mergia (Ethiopia)02:22:45
2012Ayele Abshero (Ethiopia)02:04:23Aselefech Mergia (Ethiopia)02:19:31
2013Lelisa Desisa (Ethiopia)02:04:45Tirfi Tsegaye (Ethiopia)02:23:23
2014Tsegaye Mekonnen (Ethiopia)02:04:32Mulu Seboka (Ethiopia)02:25:01
2015Berhanu Lemi (Ethiopia)02:05:28Aselefech Mergia (Ethiopia)02:20:02
2016Tesfaye Abera (Ethiopia)02:04:24Tirfi Tsegaye (Ethiopia)02:19:41
2017Tamirat Tola (Ethiopia)02:04:11Worknesh Degefa (Ethiopia)02:22:36
2018Mosinet Geremew (Ethiopia)02:04:00Roza Dereje (Ethiopia)02:19:17
2019Getaneh Molla (Ethiopia)02:03:34Ruth Chepngetich (Kenya)02:17:08
2020Olika Adugna (Ethiopia)2:06:15Worknesh Degefa (Ethiopia)2:19:38


Map showing location of Dubai Marathon 2022

Event Details

Date: (TBC)

Venue: Starts and finishes near Madinat Jumeirah

Umm Suqeim Road
Al Sufouh
United Arab Emirates

Nearest Metro Station(s): Mall of the Emirates

Visit Dubai Marathon 2022 Website

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!